McGlone Welcomes £10million for Rural Roads Recovery

SDLP MLA for Mid Ulster, Patsy McGlone, has welcomed confirmation that the majority of the £12million Roads Recovery Fund will be spent on rural roads. The Infrastructure Minister, the SDLP’s Nichola Mallon, confirmed in a recent Assembly Written Answer to the Mid Ulster MLA that £10miilion of the £12million fund will be directed to rural roads. The Roads Recovery Fund is part of a capital investment of £75million by the Infrastructure Minister in the structural maintenance of the road network in 2020/2021.

Mr McGlone said, “I welcome confirmation from the Infrastructure Minister that the majority of the £12million Roads Recovery Fund will be spent on the rural road network.

“Rural roads provide an important link between communities and sustain the rural economy.

“It is important that the rural road network is constantly maintained and improved when possible.

“There are around 80 locations in Mid Ulster where work is planned or has already been completed under the programme.

“These include A29 William Street / Molesworth Street junction, Cookstown; A42 Church Street / Station Road mini roundabout, Maghera; A54 Kilrea Road, Clady; B73 Battery Road, Moortown; B73 Coagh Road, Cookstown; B160 Annaghquinn Road, Cookstown; B160 North Street, Stewartstown; B181 Ballymulligan Road, Magherafelt; B181 Springhill Road, Moneymore; C547 Lismoyle Road, Swatragh; C551 Halfgayne Road, Maghera; U0607 Knockanroe Road, Drumullan; U0615 Gort Road, Ballinderry; U0616 Mullan Road, Ballinderry; U0616 Moss Road, Ballinderry; U0622 Ardboe Road, Ardboe; U0622 Killycanavan Road, Ardboe; U0625 Albany Road, Ardboe; U0631 Woodhouse Road, Ardboe; U0632 Back Lower Road, Ardboe; U0635 Drumkern Road, Stewartstown; U0637 Ballygittle Road, Stewartstown; U0707 Mill Road, Dunamore; U0709 Crockbane Road, Dunamore; U0709 Kinnagillan Road, Dunamore; U0729 Drumgarrel Road, Drumullan; U0812 Aghafad Road, Pomeroy; U0812 Lurganeden Road, Pomeroy; U0818 Cashel Lane, Pomeroy; U0822 Ballynakilly Road, Sandholes; U0824 Gortfad Lane, Sandholes; U2203 Ballyloughan Road, Drumullan; U2208 Tamlaghtmore Road, Cookstown; U2209 Drumgrass Road, Churchtown; U5005 Old Tyanee Road, Clady; U5109 Barnside Road, Swatragh; U5084 Rocktown Road, Knockloughrim; U5085 Rocktown Road, Knockloughrim; U5089 Killyberry Road, Bellaghy; U5090 Killyberry Lane, Bellaghy; U5091 Tamlaghtduff Road, Bellaghy; U5100 Annagh Lane, Bellaghy; U5155 Tullynagee Road, Moneymore; U5160 Tirgan Road, Moneymore; U5172 Chambre Park, Stewartstown; U5239 Brackaghreilly Road, Maghera; U5346 Hillhead Park, Castledawson; C0637 Tullydraw; U0920 Tullyaran; U7502 Windmill Drive; U1106 Killybracken Road; C0646 Killyliss Road; U0935 Frenchmans Road; C0635 Finulagh Road; U0925 Garvagh Road; C0635 Lurgylea; U0923 Mullaghroddan; C0634 Altmore; C0635 Reclain; U1027 Gortgonis Road; C0637 Agharan Road; C0638 Quintinmanus Road; C0638 Mullaghteige; C0639 Drumkee; U1005 Cullion; U1018 Derrylaughan; U1005 Mineveigh; C0637 Agharan; U1031 Lower Corr; U1402 Leghamaghery; U1413 Alderwood Road; U1421 Corleaghan; U0411 Tullycorker; U0310 Knockconny; U0310 Greenhill; C0647 Carricklongfield; U0519 Derrylattinee; and B0128 Rehaghey.

“The much-needed repairs will greatly enhance our rural roads network and provide a boost for the rural economy.

“The SDLP will continue to lobby the Executive to approve further investment across our rural roads network.”